The general entry requirements for foreign nationals seeking to enter the Russian Federation are as follows:

Applying for a Visa

Citizens of foreign states that Russia has no visa-free arrangements with, including the EU, the USA, Canada, and Japan, require a visa to enter the country. A Russian entry visa may be obtained at your local Russian Embassy or Consulate. For more details on the terms for entering the Russian Federation from each country, please refer to the Russian MFA Consular Services Portal. There are Russian Embassies in the USA, Canada, the UK, Switzerland, Germany, France, Italy, Austria, Spain, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, the Netherlands, Belgium, Japan, China, the UAE, etc. Here you can find information about all Russian Federation consulates including their addresses, phone numbers and work schedules.

You should apply for different types of visas depending on the purpose of your visit and the length of stay. There are tourist, business, transit, private, educational and employment visas, which can be valid for single entry, double entry or multiple entry. Foreign nationals who enter Russia for connections to any other destination should apply for transit visas.

A tourist visa permits you to stay in Russia for a maximum of one month and applies to non-business trips.

Business visas are provided for business-related visits. A Russian business visa may be obtained at the Consular Service on a priority basis.

Required documents:

• international passport recognized by the Russian Federation confirming your identity and valid for a minimum of 6 months after the end of your trip;

• a fully completed application form that you can find here;

• one 3.5 × 4.5 cm photograph;

• supporting documents appropriate for the type of visa.

You can find detailed information about the consular fees charged for visa issue at the website of the corresponding Russian consular office abroad.

Visa Free Travel

Russia has visa-free arrangements with over 20 countries.

The citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Venezuela, Israel, Columbia, Chile, Peru, Nicaragua, Guatemala and Ecuador may stay in Russia without a visa for up to 90 days.

A 30-day visa-free period applies to citizens of Cuba, Serbia, Thailand and Montenegro. Citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina and Macedonia may also stay in Russia without a visa for up to 30 days for tourism or up to 90 days for private or business trips, provided an original invitation letter is available.

Russian relations with the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (the People's Republic of China) allows for mutual visa-free travel for up to 14 days.

Russia also has a visa-free regime with the CIS countries. Here you can find the entry requirements for citizens of other countries.

In addition, cruiseship and ferry passengers, including those arriving in St. Petersburg, are granted rights to a 72-hour visa-free stay in Russia and, thus, can visit Moscow.